Thai Chicken Green Curry

During this lockdown when Jugnu and I were craving for some rich, restaurant style food, especially Thai cuisine, we thought of trying it on our own. And without any exaggeration, this Thai Chicken Green Curry has become one of my most wonderful creations (haha I like to pat myself on the back for all the effort I’ve been putting in cooking).

One of the most popular Asian dish, Thai Chicken Green Curry is amazingly delicious and easy to prepare. Thanks to the readymade curry pastes available in the grocery stores, it has become so easy to relish different types of cuisines these days. I now stock my fridge with Yellow Thai Curry paste, Red curry paste, Panang curry paste and Massaman curry paste, at all times.

Ingredients for Thai Chicken Green Curry

  • Koh Thai green paste – 1.5 tbsp
  • 1 tbsp olive oil and coconut oil
  • a few cloves of garlic (not mandatory)
  • 1 sliced onion
  • 1 sliced bell pepper
  • 100 gms sliced mushrooms
  • 250 gms chicken cubes
  • Salt and pepper as per taste
  • 2 whole green onions (white and green)
  • 150 ml coconut milk
  • peanuts / cashews (not mandatory)

Preparation of Thai Chicken Green Curry

  1. Take a pan and saute chicken cubes (for 5 minutes on medium flame) with some salt and pepper and a few drops of olive oil. Place them aside.
  2. Take another deep pan and add coconut oil. Put the gas on medium flame and let the oil melt (if it’s hard).
  3. Add Koh Thai paste and sautée it for 30 seconds.
  4. Add all the veggies (except green onion) & chicken, and saute it for 5 minutes on low medium flame. Cover the lid and keep stirring in between.
    JUGNI’s tip – you can add chilli paste or garlic pepper at this point if you want the curry to be spicy. 🔥
  5. Then add coconut milk, keep it on low medium flame, and let the veggies and chicken soak in the milk.
  6. Add chopped white part of green onion to the pan, cover with lid, and let it cook with the rest for 8-9 minutes.
  7. After that garnish the curry with the green part of the green onion and switch the gas off.
  8. Cover the pan with lid and let it stay for another 10 minutes.
  9. Enjoy with steamed white or cumin rice.

You can start the curry preparation by roasting garlic. I didn’t use in my recipe because I enjoy the flavours from the paste. But if you are a fan of garlic, add some of it.

Also, you can add peanuts (chopped or raw) when you add green onions, to enhance the flavour, but it can be avoided.

Jugni’s Tips –

1. Add as many veggies as you like, carrots, peas, beans, zuchini, squash, bok choy, broccoli, spinach etc.
2. Add water to adjust the consistency as per your liking.
3. Make sure you cook the curry on low medium heat, as the milk can get curdled.
4. Add a few drops of lime on the final dish to add a tangy flavour.
5. If you like a combination of coconut milk and coriander, this is heaven for you, just add coriander leaves on the final product. I don’t mix both because of my silly taste buds. 🙂
6. You can also add lemon grass if you like.

I came a few querries which I though could be useful for you guys as well:

  1. Can you cook and store Green curry in advance?
    – Well, I would recommend to prepare it fresh everytime, as it is so easy to prepare, or you can refrigerate it for 2 days.
  2. Is the Thai Chicken Green curry sweet in taste?
    – Yes, according to my taste buds, it is kind of sweet due to coconut milk. You can add chilli paste to make it spicy.
  3. Only steamed rice goes with Thai Chicken Green curry?
    – NO, NO, NO. Its totally depends on your taste and likings. It is surely preferred with steamed sticky rice, but you can also enjoy it noodles, cumin rice or even Indian naan (or tortilla). Jugnu loves it with Naan.

I never knew coconut milk could do wonders with the food, I was never a big fan of coconut, but now I love it.
Let me know by hitting the thumbs up button if you like the recipe and do share it with your friends.

Flying (with my chicken wings) Away
Jugni

Author: Jugni

Global Citizen | Foodie | Traveler | Pet-mom | Photographer | Cook | Fashionista | 🥞🍔👩‍🍳 | ✈️ 🏔 🏝 | 🐶 | 📷 | 👗💅🏻💇‍♀️ |

7 thoughts

Leave a comment